Like Follow Contact Us
Yonkers Daily Voice serves Yonkers, NY
Yonkers Daily Voice serves Yonkers, NY

Nearby Towns


Sarah Lawrence College's Rider Emma Nogami Wins Equestrian Scholarship

BRONXVILLE, N.Y. -- Sarah Lawrence College horse rider Emma Nogami has been named a 2014 Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation Scholarship (IEF) Winner.

In addition, Nogami joins nine other Gryphons who have been named to the 2013-14 Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) all-academic team. Award winners were announced in conjunction with the association's National Championships at the Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, May 1-4.

Nogami is one of 23 riders in the country to be selected for an IEF Scholarship. She was selected from among the IHSA's more than 400 teams and 6,500 hunter-seat riders. Nogami was also one of just two recipients representing IHSA Zone 3, which includes 50 teams in Delaware, New Jersey, eastern Pennsylvania and the New York City area.

"Emma has served as captain of the team this past year, but has been an integral part of the team's success for two years," said head coach Lori Rakoczy.

"She helps organizes the team's meetings and has coordinated multiple team fund-raisers. Emma has shown dedication, responsibility, leadership as part of the equestrian team at Sarah Lawrence College. She is a wonderful representative of SLC, the athletic department and the program."

The IEF scholarship is awarded based on six criteria: academic performance, involvement in IHSA/equine activities, interest in participation in future equestrian activities, academic and community involvement, financial need, and letters of recommendation.

A total of 10 Gryphons have been named to the IHSA All-Academic team. To be eligible, riders must be in good standing with the IHSA and have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.50. Riders with a GPA of at least 3.80 are recognized to the All-Academic First Team, while the remainder are selected to the Second Team

IHSA All-Academic First Team: Viktoria Czaran Camille Meder Aileen Phyu Jillian Richardson Victoria Zawadzki

IHSA All-Academic Second Team: Millie Chen Alex Dennis-Renner Lesedi Ntsele Emma Nogami Weronika Kosior

Welcome to

Yonkers Daily Voice!

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.